mtbr member
    Jan 2004

I switched from BB7 to Elixer R's...

So far so good. I thought the prices on the Elixer R's were so good I had to try them...

I've been using BB7's on 2 bikes for about 4 years now. I have no complaints about the BB7's at all. Period. I don't mind the quick adjustments. I like the way they feel at the lever. I've never needed more power. And I love how I can get the lever to engage power close to the bar which is easier on my hands.

The Elixir R's look sweet. I expect that they are lighter, which is nice, but I can't tell that went I'm riding. They have been quiet and very powerful since I installed them. The lever doesn't feel as nice on my finger as the SD7, but I used that for over 4 years. I think the lever is a little wider (or taller), and flatter. It doesn't bother me at all, but its not as contoured as the SD7 is my point. The adjustable banjo is nice (my friend also got some but his didn't have it). I like the drop in pad loading. It also makes it really easy to gauge pad wear (I like that a lot).

My only quibble (and the thing that would make me get the Elixir CR's next time) is that even after adjusting the reach all the way in, the levers contact the pads farther away from the bar than I would like. I'm assuming that the CR's would be able to fix this issue.

Was this a good upgrade? I can't say it was yet, but only because it was over $200 I didn't need to spend given that I already liked my BB7's. I don't think I'll be taking them off the FS bike though, so I guess they are there to stay.

So in summary: Avid Elixir R's are a great and powerful brake for the money. I highly recommend them.

TNC
    noMAD man