Thread: I need brakes!

mtbr member
    Oct 2007

I need brakes!

I'm a 6'9" 300lb SUPERCLYDE! I have a 24" Giant Yukon hardtail. I currently have Avid brakes with 6 inch rotors that are mechanical. I'm killing my brakes all the time. I'm stretching the line after any long XC or DH. I want 8" rotors and probably Hydro. Can anybody point me in the right direction? I dont wanna pay a fortune. I'm a relative beginner about to step it up a notch. Any help is appreciated.

...idios...
    I don't know of any brake, for the money, which gets as much positive feedback as the Shimano XT.

What luck for rulers, that men do not think - Adolf Hitler

ups and downs
    You may need to upgrade the fork to one rated for 203mm rotors as many XC forks max out at 185mm rotors. Double check what max rotor size the fork is rated for by the manufacturer.

You may find that the new organic pads with the Avid BB-7's and 203mm rotors enough of an improvement.

mtbr member
    Oct 2007
    I have upgraded my fork to a FOX Vanilla 2008 but I'm unsure if it's compatible to a 203mm rotor.

mtbr member
    Jul 2003

Not so Rocky....

most modern XC forks are rated up to 203mm rotors. Even the lowly Rock Shox Dart 1 that is stock on the Yukon! Most modern 32mm + stanchioned forks are rated to 210mm! Fork manufacturers have started to realize that folks that are heavier than the mythical 150 to 170 ideal do ride bikes!

Anyway, to the OP. I'd deffinately check out what the manufacturer has to say about the max rotor diameter recommendation for your fork. If it's doable, I think you'd find that going to a 203mm rotor in the front and a 185mm rotor in the rear would solve your braking problems without having to resort to a complete set of new brakes. I weigh 230lbs without gear and ride an 05 Stumpjumper with avid mechanicals. 185mm rotor front and 160mm rear and the brakes have plenty of power.