bicioso

I hate Tektro Novelas

They squeal like pigs in death row! from day one and it's gets old real fast.

These came w my entry level 10' c'dale cross bike. I know most ppl would think they are crap but they seem to perform ok on the street (main use is utilitarian) other than the noise .

I'd like to upgrade to Avid BB7, both have 160mm dia/ 6 bolt pattern, is this possible?
    I'm very new to disc brakes (primarily a roadie here) do you guys foresee compatibility issues?
    Can I reuse cables and brake lever or have to be Avid specific?
    TIA

~Disc~Golf~
    Quote Originally Posted by spinerguy
    They squeal like pigs in death row! from day one and it's gets old real fast.

These came w my entry level 10' c'dale cross bike. I know most ppl would think they are crap but they seem to perform ok on the street (main use is utilitarian) other than the noise .

I'd like to upgrade to Avid BB7, both have 160mm dia/ 6 bolt pattern, is this possible?
    I'm very new to disc brakes (primarily a roadie here) do you guys foresee compatibility issues?
    Can I reuse cables and brake lever or have to be Avid specific?
    TIA
    Yes you can upgrade to BB7 no prob.
    You can re-use cables and levers - However, a nice set of 'compressionless' housings will do *wonders as will some adjustable levers (SD7s for example)
    *"wonders" is a strong word - but it's worth it IMO

In the meantime, you can silence squealing by reducing the harmonic vibration...
    You can try duct-tape on your rotor arms, lead weights to your caliper...

One thing that has worked for me, (I've gotten flamed for this, so beware), is a SMALL amount of graphite on a rag and then run across the rotor.
    If you go through alot of creeks or wash your bike often, you may have to do this again.

Yea, graphite is a 'lube' in many cases - and in this one as well, but it's a vibration (hertz) lube really -

hmmm, vibration lube
    Honestly... ahh I give up

mtbr member
    Oct 2010