Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Mar 2010

hydros and winter riding

this will be my first winter with hydros , usually ride year round here in new england . will i have a problem with the hydros in extreme cold , will the fluid freeze or thicken to the point it will cause a braking issue. also do not know if it matters have what i believe are low end hydros(tektro agulia comp's)

b a n n e d
    Pretty certain that the fluid won't freeze . . .think about your car for example. It may thicken up a bit though, but as soon as you get in a few stops I imagine you'll heat up the rotors and fluid enough to keep it from causing a problem.

I'm new to hydro's as well though, so more experienced folks may say otherwise.

mtbr member
    Aug 2010
    Good thread here! Just bought my first ride with hydros too. Was wondering if storing in an unheated garage was OK. I plan to ride all winter but didn't want to ask the nooblike question first.

AZ
    banned
    I have ridden hydro's in temps as cold as -6 Fahrenheit without any issues what so ever .

mtbr member
    Aug 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by AZ.MTNS
    I have ridden hydro's in temps as cold as -6 Fahrenheit without any issues what so ever .
    That's all I needed to know for my Pennsylvania winters.

Rub it............
    DOT 3/4/5.1 brake fluid has a much lower freezing point than Mineral oil.

The freezing point of Mineral oil is around -22 degrees and DOT brake fluid is around -60 degrees, however, I have read that the lowest USEFUL temp due to fluid viscosity is around 30 degrees, just below freezing. I have read reports of mineral oil based brake systems not providing adequate stopping power at these temps. But YMMV.

However, you should be fine whether you have brake fluid based brakes or mineral oil based brakes. Just be c

mtbr member
    As a general rule, shimano brakes do not work in winter (real winter). All other brakes do work. But YMMV, of course.

Rollin 29s