mtbr member
    Jul 2004

Hydro brake question.

Having only used mechanicals for a long time I went and bought a set of Formula Oro K24 brakes. I've been riding for about six months on them and I noticed the front brake lever pulls closer to the bar than the rear. I don't think its a bleeding issue since braking power is still awesome. The little black lever is adjusted the same and the lever reach is the same on both sides too. Am I correct in assuming that the front wears faster so faster pad wear has the lever closer to the bar? Its not so close that I need to do anything about it its just something I observed.

Thanks!
    OB1 Kielbasa

One is good!

locked - time out
    Jan 2010
    Are you asking the internet to physically check your brake pads to see whether the fronts wore faster than the rear and do a safety check on your brakes to insure that you ride injury-free?

mtbr member
    Jul 2004
    No, just asking in actuality if fronts wear faster than rears and does the fast wear cause the lever to engage closer to the bar. The brakes work fine. If I can lock them with one finger thats safe. A visual inspection shows lots of pad.
    OB1 Kielbasa

One is good!

locked - time out
    Jan 2010
    Depends on how much you're using the front, that's why the internet can't answer the question, because only YOU can answer it.

mtbr member
    Jul 2004
    I'm just asking if pad wear cause the lever to engage closer to the bar not diagnose a braking issue. You're a strange dude.
    OB1 Kielbasa

One is good!

locked - time out
    Jan 2010
    Yeah, but you also want to know if your front break would wear faster, and only you can tell us if that has actually happened.

mtbr member
    They can wear unevenly.... my wife killed her rear pads the first couple trips to the DH park and the fronts wear fine.