mtbr member
    Oct 2009

Hydraulic brake problem

I'm pretty new to hydraulic brakes, this is the first set i've had and i have only had them for about an month maybe a little more now. I'm having a little issue with my front brake, I have Shimano M486 hydraulic disc brakes and my front brake lever has slowly become a smaller and smaller pull, now the pads rub the whole rotation of the wheel and my brakes lock the wheel up if i just ever so slightly touch the lever.

This started to happen about 5 days back when me and a friend were loading our bikes in his car to go ride some trails. We have to disconnect our front wheels to fit the bikes in his car and while he was walking my bike (without the front wheel) to the back of the car he pulled the front brake lever all the way closed (he has never used hydraulic brakes only mechanical discs and didn't think anything about what that could do to mine) anyways when we got to the trail I could not fit my font wheel back on the bike because the brake pads didn't have enough of a gap for the rotor. After a little tinkering with the caliper some of the mineral oil leaked out of the line when we loosened one of the screws and then quickly tightened it back up when I noticed that happened. After that you had to pull the lever all the way to the handlebar to get just to get a very minimal amount of braking power but would not lock the wheel up just slow it down a little. We adjusted the lever all the way out so I could get a little braking power out of it so we could ride the trail then go home and try fixing it. After we finished riding I noticed I was able to lock the front wheel up when before i couldn't, then 2 days later i noticed that the pull was getting smaller and smaller, eventually it was back to how i had it set before this whole situation happened, and now my pads are constantly rubbing and if i just tap the lever it locks the wheel up .