mtbr member

How will I know: Disc brake pad replacement?

I have a simple question that searching didn't answer; never owning disc brakes before how will I know when it is time to replace the brake pads? I have a trip computer on and understanding mileage depends heavily on ride style, about how many miles will the pads last? I have the standard entry level TEKTRO IO brakes.

I'm not having brake issues, I have adjusted them since I started riding last spring to cure a squeak. Just curious what I should look / listen for so I know when to replace them. For the price of a set of pads, I'm not worried about replacing them early. Just don't want a failure on the trail.

And, should I replace front and back at the same time, or OK to replace one but not the other?

Thanks for the guidance.

mtbr member
    Oct 2008
    the easiest way to see how much the pad is worn for me has been taking out the wheel and simply looking at the pads, there should be at least 1mm of frictional material on the pad. However, if you plan to get hydraulic brakes in the future, there maybe more effective methods. If your brakes are adjusted properly, they shouldn't be noisy, up until the frictional material is practically gone, but I would watch for that, since then the rotor can be damaged. However, I had a set of those when I first started riding about 5 years ago. While they are ok for mild riding, down the road you can look into some bb7's which have been outstanding for the past 3 years for me.
    break that ironhorse, he he...

mtbr member
    mileage doesn't reflect usage... much like a car, you'll know when it's time
    '11 Jedi
    '01 Straight8
    '01Rocket88< ran over it.. always do a full walk around!
    '00 Homegrown

mtbr member