escapee

how do i adjust the *outer* pad on Hayes MX4s?

i keep having this problem with my rear rotor touching the *outer* brake pad and then my wheel of course doesn't spin freely.

the only clue i have found on how to fix this was in a comment on the mtbr review page for the product.

"moving pad only adjustable by changing cable position."

but how? help me please. i'm a noob at fixing things.
    Last edited by friendzonehero; 10-12-2008 at 03:32 PM.

mtbr member
    Apr 2006
    Having the exact same problem on my Stroker trails. Was just about to post up.

Meh.
    With the Stroker trail, the pistons are self adjusting. Remove the wheel, insert a flathead screwdriver between the pads, rock back and forth. Reinstall the wheel. Loosen the two bolts that attach the caliper to the adapter. Pump the lever a few times, squeeze the lever. Alternately snug the two bolts back up while making sure the caliper does not shift. Repeat if necessary.

For the mechanical brake, it's different. You need to make sure the wheel is all the way and straight in the dropouts. You can center the caliper the same way as for the Stroker, but you may need to adjust pad position afterwards. The inboard pad is the one closest to the spokes. That pad does not move. You can adjust it's position via the 5mm allen on the back of the caliper. There may be a 2mm set screw on the top of the caliper to hold the position. Loosen the set screw. Turn the 5mm bolt counter clockwise to pull the pad away from the rotor. You want to have the pad close to the rotor, but not rubbing. The outboard pad is the dynamic pad. The position is adjusted by cable tension. However, the cable should be anchored with the arm just about all the way out. And then the caliper position adjusted to compensate. If you do not understand, take it to the bike shop.

escapee
    will,
    thank you for the detailed reply. i think i've got it now!

rebmem rbtm
    Apr 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by friendzonehero.