MTBR Demi-God

How To Check For Proper Bleed Job?

Now pardon me if it seems totally obvious, but I am a newbie! I installed LX hydraulic brakes on my bike a little while ago. My bike used to have a non-series Shimano mechanical disc brakes.

The installation went smoothly, without any problems whatsoever. Well, the only problem was trying to find the caliper fixing bolts which I had lost after I ripped the packaging in excitement, and the contents exploded out!

So the brakes are installed and everything went as per the instructions. The brakes are doing their job well... stopping the tires when needed to....

The question- how do I know for sure if I have bled the brakes properly. Just because the brakes are stopping the tires enough to declare a proper bleed? I turned the bike upside down, depressed the lever several times, and still they are working the way they should.

The levers feel good too... not totally firm... and not completely soft that it touches the handlebars...

Since it is the first time I worked on hydraulic brakes, I am very skeptical of the fact that I got everything right the first time...

What would be an ultimate test to see if the brakes are bled properly or not?

Thanks a lot!

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by anirban
    Now pardon me if it seems totally obvious, but I am a newbie! I installed LX hydraulic brakes on my bike a little while ago. My bike used to have a non-series Shimano mechanical disc brakes.

The installation went smoothly, without any problems whatsoever. Well, the only problem was trying to find the caliper fixing bolts which I had lost after I ripped the packaging in excitement, and the contents exploded out!

So the brakes are installed and everything went as per the instructions. The brakes are doing their job well... stopping the tires when needed to....