Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member

How bad are BB7 brakes?

I have no experience beyond what I have read with either hydro or mechanical discs, but what I want to know is how bad can they be? Why am I able to set up a bike with BB7s for ~$80-$90 front and rear and even "cheap" hydros are going to run me $200 or more. Is there that big of a difference? If I go the cheap route and put BB7's on my EMD9 build and I going to regret it?

Thanks!

mtbr member
    Aug 2009
    check out some of the reviews on this site.

http://www.mtbr.com/cat/brakes/disc-...8_1507crx.aspx

mtbr member
    Jun 2007
    BB7's are a good mechanical disc brake. The adjustable pad contact is nice and have plenty of power. Aren't going to have the same feel as a hydraulic disc brake but they are solid and great if you are on a budget.
    NW MTB Addict

mtbr member
    The bb7s are hands down the best mechanical disc brakes. Hydros aren't automatically better than all disc brakes, just because they're hydros. When comparing prices, people often neglect that the total cost of the bb7s would include the brake cables and brake levers, probably because when they upgrade, they use their existing cable/levers. $80-90 for both front and rear? That's insanely cheap. But nonetheless, you have to look beyond the price tag, keep your mind open. Many people have stated their preference of the bb7s over a variety of hydros for a variety of reasons.

Is there a big difference? Which 'cheap' hydros are you comparing with?

And with your dilemma, the bb7s WILL be the 'cheap' (low cost) route, but the bb7s themselves are NOT 'cheap' (low quality) brakes calipers.

mtbr member
    Jul 2008
    They are excellent brakes and super fuss-free.
    2010 Giant Anthem X
    Friends don't let friends ride Tune hubs.

Always Learning
    Quote Originally Posted by jamorgan3777