How much does it weigh?

Hope Tech X2 brake pads for AM/FR bike?

I've had my X2s for almost a year now.

They will be coming off my Fatback with 6" rotors, and going on an IronHorse 7Point for a while, till I can afford a set of M4s.

I'm a bit worried I won't have enough power, with 8" front and 7" rear rotor.

I see there is quite a few different aftermarket pads available, all of which I have zero experience with.

I've never considered aftermarket pads, but if I can spend $20 to get my brakes biting hard enough to thrash my new ride, I'm happy. Saves me $180 per wheel for the time being.

Unless someone has used X2s for AM/FR? And knows if they will have enough power? I've got no idea on how well rotor size scaling up will affect the power on these.

I had Elixir CRs before, but for a snow bike, they were horrid in the winter, needed bleeding constantly. Went from 8" rotors on a Banshee Wildcard, which could easily throw your face into the pavement, to 6" rotors on the Fatback, which could still slow you down super fast, but definitely no stoppies without some body language. I'm hoping the X2s with 8" front rotor could be near the Elixir CRs with 7" rotors *cross fingers* I'm more than happy with a bit less power than Elixirs, but if they're boiling like crazy and scary to ride, I'll cry a river for sure.

Basically I just need to know what pads you guys have tried, and would recommend, for beefing up the X2 with some more power, so I don't wrap myself around a tree.

For anyone interested, here is my build so far.

Waiting on....

WTB i23 rims, King rear, Hope front hub, new style WTB Weirwolf's, -2 degree Works headset, X0 shifter/derailleur.

After riding just the snow bike for a year and a half, I really miss my suspension, and riding trails (with any sort of speed).

b a n n e d
    Interested to know what others think. I'm considering the EBC Red's next, and if those don't do it then I'll try the EBC Gold.