mtbr member
    Jan 2004

Hope Mini vs Hope Mono Mini... older = better?

While the reviews are not that conclusive, is it safe to presume that the older/discontinued Hope Mini discs are more popular and sought after than the newer Mono Mini for xc riders? I'm a Hope newbie so please excuse me if this is a totally moronic post.

banned
    Quote Originally Posted by danK
    While the reviews are not that conclusive, is it safe to presume that the older/discontinued Hope Mini discs are more popular and sought after than the newer Mono Mini for xc riders? I'm a Hope newbie so please excuse me if this is a totally moronic post.
    I have the new Mono M4 on one rig, and the old Mono Mini are going on my SS rig.

my comparative thoughts:

old Mini tolerates different rotor sizes

new Mini has caliper redesign to prevent occasional power loss through separating caliper halves, but I am not so sure that the separation was an issue

if you care at all about looks, most folks find the old Mini "industrial" and the new Mono Mini "bling bling"

Feeding your addiction
    I wouldn't agree with that one, having owned both I think the Mono Mini is definitely the superior brake. More power, better looks, and seems less prone to fade from overheating.
    Larry Mettler
    http://www.mtnhighcyclery.com
    "It is inhumane, in my opinion, to force people who have a genuine medical need for coffee to wait in line behind people who apparently view it as some kind of recreational activity". - Dave Barry

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by Ventanarama
    I wouldn't agree with that one, having owned both I think the Mono Mini is definitely the superior brake. More power, better looks, and seems less prone to fade from overheating.
    Larry Mettler
    http://www.mtnhighcyclery.com