mtbr member

New question here. Hope Mini piston issues

Hi. I picked up one of the original Hope Minis as part of my build. It appears to be in very good condition, but one of the pistons seemed stuck so thought id strip it down and see whats what. Iv stripped down Grimeca and Brembo calipers on motorbikes before so im not a total noob with brakes, just with the MTB setups

The issue is around the pistons and bores. Looking at my caliper halves i initially thought i had small pistons running in machined bores that were pressed into the caliper body. strange.

However, looking at pic number 11 on the rebuild thread (link below) they seem to have the pistons running straight in the caliper body, and dont have what apppear to be some kind of collars sat inside the pistons like i do? confused! anyone shed any light?

http://steveukmtb.wordpress.com/hope...iper-overhaul/

Ive attached 2 pics of my caliper, as split. Hopefully you can understand what i mean?

Thanks! Paul
    Attached Images Attached Images    
    UK MTBer

mtbr member
    So there's a sleeve inside of the piston? That doesn't sound right. Especially if you look here at the Hope CAD drawing of the Mini caliper:

mtbr member
    Feb 2010
    Have you popped the pistons out yet? You can do that with a floor pump and your finger over the fluid hole. Make sure to put a rag over the piston so it doesn't go shooting across the room. Take a picture of the caliper and piston. I have an extra caliper and pistons out in the shop left over from when I ran the original Minis.

ballbuster

I'm doing mine....

Quote Originally Posted by santacruzflyer
    Have you popped the pistons out yet? You can do that with a floor pump and your finger over the fluid hole. Make sure to put a rag over the piston so it doesn't go shooting across the room. Take a picture of the caliper and piston. I have an extra caliper and pistons out in the shop left over from when I ran the original Minis.