mtbr member

Help Needed- New Avid Pro Bleed Kit??

I've been using the standard Avid bleed kit for a few years now, no problem. The seals on the syringe finally gave way, so I decided to order up the new professional bleed kit from Avid. I got it in yesteray, and decided to give it a go. When I close the red clamp on the syringe, and pull the syringe handle outwards, the handle continues to pull out, there is no resistance? On the old syringe, when I closed the red clamp and pulled the syringe outward there was resistance, allowing me to get all of the air bubbles out of the syringe before I started the bleeding process. Am I doing something wrong? Is there a different procedure with the new bleed kit? The manual that came with the new kit was identical to the one I recieved in my old kit a few years back.

Thanks for any insight.

Cheers,
    Stephen

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by shalesjr View Post
    I've been using the standard Avid bleed kit for a few years now, no problem. The seals on the syringe finally gave way, so I decided to order up the new professional bleed kit from Avid. I got it in yesteray, and decided to give it a go. When I close the red clamp on the syringe, and pull the syringe handle outwards, the handle continues to pull out, there is no resistance? On the old syringe, when I closed the red clamp and pulled the syringe outward there was resistance, allowing me to get all of the air bubbles out of the syringe before I started the bleeding process. Am I doing something wrong? Is there a different procedure with the new bleed kit? The manual that came with the new kit was identical to the one I recieved in my old kit a few years back.

Thanks for any insight.

Cheers,
    Stephen
    Check that the hose fitting on the syringe is tight and not allowing air to be drawn in.

mtbr member
    Feb 2009