mtbr member

Help with Hope brake diagnosis

The brakes are Hope Mono Mini.

I noticed yesterday, the front brake seemed partially closed, meaning there was much shorter lever throw needed to activate the brakes (they were actually rubbing a little). Also, the lever stays in a halfway position, so that I can push it forward to full open, but it springs back to half way.

I tried prying the brake pads apart, but they went back to the partially closed position when I started riding again.

My ride yesterday started with a long downhill, so I thought it might be fluid expansion from brake heat, but the brakes are still the same now that everything is cooled off.

I haven't done anything new to the brakes, so it's odd this would just start happening out of the blue. I last bled them about a year ago.

mtbr member
    Come on you brake experts! any ideas?

mtbr member
    I thought this would be an easy question for one of the gurus around here.
    I guess I'll just bleed it and see if that helps.

human dehumidifier
    Have you pulled the caliper yet to clean around the piston/seal area?
    But if you close your eyes it becomes so easy to see

mtbr member
    I haven't done anything yet. I suppose that's a good suggestion to start with before I drain it.

human dehumidifier
    Yeah I'd go ahead and pull the caliper and monkey with it some to try and figure it out before going too far You might even be able to isolate the problem to being in the caliper, the line, or the lever. Another thought is if the master cylinder cap seal swells it could be pushing fluid in to the system. (I've got the same kind of problem with a set of Elixir CRs, I'll be riding along and the brakes apply themselves. Nice.)
    But if you close your eyes it becomes so easy to see

Never enough time to ride
    You might also try flushing the system with new fluid. Other wise it sounds like you may need a master cylinder rebuild.

Happy trails...

Squish
    Get out and ride!

mtbr member