mtbr member
    Feb 2008

Hayes vs. Avid low budget hydro brake shootout...Who wins?

Hayes Stroker Trail ($69.99 @ pricepoint.com) vs. Avid Elixir 3 ($69.99 @ blueskycycling.com).
    Who wins and why?
    ...Now throw Avid BB7s and Avid SD-7 levers into the equation.
    ...Now what??
    My vote...
    BB7s and SD7s.
    Any thoughts?
    roccowt.
    rocnbikemeld

LightJunction.com
    Haven't tried the Stroker Trails yet, but I'd go with Elixir 3s over BB7s. More power, more modulation. If you want simplicity and easy adjustability, the BB7s have it nailed, but hydros will always do it better in my opinion.
    We sell quality bike headlights and flashlights.
    www.LightJunction.com

mtbr member
    Aug 2011
    I can't comment on the avids but I love my Stroker trails. Easy bleed and super adjustable levers. Just my $.02
    "Your opinion may vary, but it's stupid." -Rich Dillen

mtbr member
    BB7s. Why? cause I have been using them for 7 years now and no maintenance. None. No bleeding like on my old Hayes. No squealing like on my Hopes. This year while riding with all my buddies and their avid XX as they were boiling fluid, I was stopping like a champ. They are going through a set of pads a season and when I checked mine they were at 1/2 wear! Thats why I would go with BB7s.
    If I were faster, I would win

Hooded menace
    Hayes Stroker Trail ($69.99 @ pricepoint.com) vs. Avid Elixir 3 ($69.99 @ blueskycycling.com).
    Who wins and why?
    ...Now throw Avid BB7s and Avid SD-7 levers into the equation.
    ...Now what??
    My vote...
    BB7s and SD7s.
    Any thoughts?
    I have those brakes on different bikes, with different discs diameters and used them on various distances:
    Hayes stroker trail 160/160 (XC bike - 900km)
    Avid Elixir 3 180/180 (AM bike - 3km)
    Avid BB7 203/160 with Shimano LX levers (touring bike - 2000km).