Formerly NattyBoh74...

hayes nine's problems???

i was reading on another forum maybe ride monkey and they said something about the nines have problems? i am wanting to go to another brake but im a poor college student haha so these will have to do for now. are there any mods that have or can be done to help extend the life of brakes. or levers.. i cannot remember where the problem was.... if there is a problem..

mtbr member
    May 2007

Many.....

Opinions, but few who can actually describe what they don't like.

If they're working fine for you then why worry.

Web forums are rarely a source of accurate information. Many of the negative comments you'll get about 9's are from those produced 5-6 years ago.

Go ride.

Formerly NattyBoh74...
    str8 thanks.

Meh.
    The 9s are still the same brakes... And they're still terrible... Poor modulation and build quality.

mtbr member
    May 2007
    Will, you seem to really like the Mag Master cylinder over the Nines, please explain the
    difference. They both have the same caliper, hose, MC piston, lever pivot distance and lever shape. Why would one have better modulation?

Meh.
    Internals are different. Is it really that hard to understand? Both that Civic and that S2000 have wheels, brakes, and an engine. Why would one be a better handling car than the other?

mtbr member
    May 2007
    "Is it really that hard to understand?"

Not really I do, the "internals" as you call them are the design except for the reservoir size. Just a different package to lower the cost thus a lower pricepoint. Both brakes have the same "modulation".

Meh.
    What?

Yes, the 9 is produced to meet a lower price point, quality suffers. What are you saying about modulation?

Formerly NattyBoh74...
    damn.. no need to bash me lol. so what should i get rid of or upgrade? the lever? or the caliper? everything?

Former Bike Wrench