mtbr member
    Mar 2009

Hayes Nine Bleed Pressure Issue

Hey Everyone, I recently put together a bike using Hayes 9 hydraulic brakes which my friend gave to me. When he had the brakes he crashed the bike hitting the protective cap on the front of the right (rear) brake on a rock which caused oxygen to enter and the brake to loose pressure. I had that brake bled but it may or may not have an issue... Whenever I press the lever it catches just fine but if I let off a bit (not all the way) and then press it down again the lever will go closer and closer to the handle bar until i have no pressure in the break. Same thing happens if I push the brake lever real slow. The mechanic who bled the break said that this happens with some of the newly bled breakes but I am sceptical about his response. I have no prior experience with hydraulic brakes and don't know if this is normal, and input or help on fixing this issue will be highly appreciated.

P.S. the brakes are NOT leaking fluid and as long as i release the lever completely is breaks just fine next time i push it.

mtbr member
    That's strange b/c unless you've fixed it, if air (which is only ~20% oxygen so if you said nitrogen, it would have been more accurate) can go in, fluid can come out. Now to try and be helpful, what you are describing sounds like a bad M/C piston. http://aebike.com/page.cfm?action=de...=30&SKU=BR4498
    Of course, I can't explain how that got killed in a crash - perhaps it was on it's way out.

mtbr member
    Mar 2009
    I did some more research based on what you said and it sounds like you're correct. The air isn't getting into the fluid because the brake is not degrading in performance and no fluid is coming out so I don't exactly understand how the brake could do what it does, but there is nothing that else could be wrong, i.e. the spring, retaining ring and washer all seem to e doing their job.

Thanks again

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by kdubovenko