mtbr member
    Mar 2004

Hayes Mag vs. Mag Plus - any experiences?

Okay, so building a new bike. I have easiest access to Hayes and (some) Avid products. Next comes Magura, then comes everything else. Of course I'd love to use juicys, but I don't know if anyone else has heard this, but because of the SRAM buyout, production is moving to Asia from Italy, and they will not be available again until September.

I'm highly considering Hayes mags or the Mag plus models. I've gotten my hands on them (in the box) but not ridden either. I have some past experience with the HFX-comp models on a past bike. Can anyone compare or contrast the Mag vs the Mag-plus? I'm cool with the price difference, it's not that bad. Advantages for the mag plus is a hair of weight (not the biggest concern on this bike) and they just look schnazz.

Are they mechanically similar? Would anybody go as far as to say that they work (feel, modulate, power) the same? Would you say that one is functionally better than the other, given the same size and type of rotor and pads? Reccomendations on rotors and pads are also welcome.

Thanks much guyz. John.

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by johnmyster99

Are they mechanically similar?

Thanks much guyz. John.
    Yes both brakes use the same internals. The difference is The Mag Plus uses carbon levers, Titanium hardware, a wave rotor and 368g vs 418g for six inch rotor kits.
    Erik,
    Balle Racing
    www.balleracing.com

mtbr member
    Mar 2004

humm

well, I kinda knew that much. guess I was lookin for more feedback on either really.

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by johnmyster99
    well, I kinda knew that much. guess I was lookin for more feedback on either really.