Weekend Warrior
    Mar 2004

Hayes HMX-1 XC questions?

Okay, just got my gf a new bike with hayes hmx-1xc brakes. No matter how many times the bike shop works on it or I try to adjust it, I can't get the rotor to stop rubbing. The bike shop claims that "It's no big deal" but I can't imagine it being this way. I have spent hours adjusting the caliper but I can only get it to the point where it rubs just a bit. And the worse part is that if I take the wheel off and put it back on, it starts to rub really bad again. The hubs are Formulas if that helps any. And yes, I have made sure that the wheel was seated properly and I tried tons of different tensions on the wheel skewer and no luck. On my other bikes I have and Hayes hydraulics, Shimano 525's and Shimano XT's, all of them being hydraulic and they have all been problem free, including no rubbing once they were setup properly. This is my first attempt at cable discs. Are the Hayes HMX just bad brakes? I went to Hayes web site and it mentions that there is an adjustment on the side that you can use to open or close the pads to stop rubbing but the model I have does not have this feature.
    My questions are 1) Are they supposed to rub? 2) Do I just get a new set of discs like Avids
    3) Do I need to get a new wheelset with different hubs - maybe the formula hubs are not machined evenly?

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated. I much rather be riding then sitting in my garage messing with the discs all the time.

mtbr member
    Mar 2004