mtbr member
    May 2009

goodridge hose + formula "the one" - new question

hi, all:
    i've done my research and searches, and i've got a few questions that are not covered by the information i found. at the moment, i have no backup brakes to use if i screw up the installation, so i want to get it right.

i've been using my formula "the ones" for a few months and love them. i have to adjust the hose length, so i figured it's the best time to install goodridge hoses.

background:
    #1: i made sure to get goodridge kit #109, as detailed in this thread, and this one. those threads were helpful. thank you. the goodridge instructions don't address formula brakes.

#2: i've checked formula's exploded parts diagram (PDF), which does not appear to show the lever-hose connection.

#3: i've checked section 2.4 (page 13 of the PDF) of the owner's manual, which shows the rubber seal, tightening bush, "biconical", and o-ring/plug as they connect the hose to the lever. the stock parts make sense.

a couple things are confusing me. perhaps it might be clear if i disassemble the lever, but, again, since i don't have a backup brake to use i'd rather seek the wisdom of those who have done it before.

questions:
    a) can anyone verify that goodridge parts labeled 4 (m8) & 5 (m6) are to be placed over the goodridge tapered hose fitting (6) as shown in my photo (attached below)?

b) formula includes parts 1 (o-ring/plug), 2 (biconical) and 3 (tightening bush) with new brakes for use when lines are shortened. i'm a little confused. do i still need any/all of those parts? it seems like formula part #3 would be replaced by goodridge part #4.

formula part #2 (their "biconical") fits quite snugly on goodridge part #6. however, what doesn't work in that configuration is that formula part #1 (o-ring/plug) is too long. it seems to me that in stock configuration, the o-ring should fit into the binconical.....and the plug goes into the stock hose.