Thread: Frozen Brakes

mtbr member
    Oct 2007

Frozen Brakes

I was out yesterday AM for an early ride in 15-20 degree weather. An hour into the ride and immediately after a 2 stream crossings, my hydraulic brakes did not work at all, I could not pull the levers at all. I am pretty new at below freezing riding and would like to know why this happened and what I can do to prevent it.

Thanks in advance.

bi-winning
    Water probably froze around the piston, preventing the fluid from pushing them out.

I don't know how to prevent that from happening.
    When under pressure, your level of performance will sink to your level of preparation.

Shorthills Cycling Club

mtbr member
    Jan 2006
    What kind of brakes? I had the previous generation XTs and one of them would lock up after several uses when the temps were low 20s and below. The shimano tech I talked too just said that that can happen in really cold temps and there wasn't anything I could do about it. None of my other shimanos (4 sets) have ever done that.

Meh.
    It has been suggested that there may be moisture in the lines. And since mineral oil is not hygroscopic... the moisture could be freezing up and preventing fluid from flowing.

nnn
    mtbr member
    Also in the cold it's a good habit to just dab the brakes every so often to keep their temperature up and hopefully prevent freezing. Some cars do this automatically so I guess it's a good idea

mtbr member
    Jul 2003

It is also highly.....