Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Mar 2010

Formula RX or XT brakes?

Looking for new brakes for a trail bike that I'm going to build. Any info on these two brakes or other suggestions would help.
    Thanks

mtbr member
    I would go with the Formula RX.

The RX is lighter, great modulation, awesome brake feel.
    I heard many Shimano disk brakes (mostly XT or XTR) screech.
    Best month for MTB is June!

DH.FR.0ne
    ^^
    Agreed, Formula all the way. Formula brakes are excellent on all levels, whereas shimano brakes... aren't.

mtbr member
    i have no experience with XT but my RXs have been great.

bt
    mtbr member
    Nov 2007
    don't like the reach adjustment (or lack of) on the formula r1's. Not sure if they're the same for the rx's.

Maybe you could instead call it lever free play adjustment.

Missouri sucks...
    Jun 2009
    Love my RXs! Still going strong after almost two whole seasons with literally ZERO maintenance other than pads. My buddy has had two sets of XTs in that time. He liked last year's model better.

Just to point something out, Shimano makes EVERYTHING under sun. Formula specializes in brakes. Hmmm...

Flaccid Member
    I've owned Formula K18's, MeGa's and TheOnes. Never a complaint on any model that I've owned, and riding in So Cal, year round is hard on equipment. We get 4 seasons of use where most only get one season, summer.

AOK
    mtbr member
    Owned both and I would go with RX all the way. Much better braking feel and modulation, lots more power.

Nuts