Closekids.com

Formula RX with new 2011 Magura Storm SL

Just bought the rotors. Any reason why they shouldn't work together?

I'm a noob at setting up brakes. Been running the brakes for a couple of months with Shimano anchor rotors. these appear to be really good. Is there anything I should know about potential adjustments?

Thank you.
    Me to my riding buddy, "Want to ride this afternoon?"
    Him, "I can't. I have to chop this guys foot off at 2".

mtbr member
    Thickness: iR1 rotors, are 1.7mm, the new Storm SL measures 1.9mm thickness. It's only 0.2mm difference, but it makes a whole difference in lever feel / travel.

mtbr member
    Oct 2004
    so I imagine the lever travel is a little. Is the the pad clearance even tighter than they currently are?

mtbr member
    When rotors are thicker, clearance will be less ...

Closekids.com
    Question Then is how wide will the brake pads separate. Didn't think to loosen the calipers, squeeze the brake, then tighten the calipers again. I'm looking forward to trying that.
    Me to my riding buddy, "Want to ride this afternoon?"
    Him, "I can't. I have to chop this guys foot off at 2".

mtbr member
    I am also thinking of trying Storm SL rotors with my Formula RX brakes. Any updates on how well they work together?

mtbr member
    I'm running Avid G2 cleansweeps with my RX brakes and they are working great, no noise either.
    Hardrock 29er, Niner EMD9, Cannondale F29, Camber Expert, 650b Nickel all gone.
    2014 Giant Anthem 27.5 here.

mtbr member
    It works fine with the R1 so it shouldn't be a problem with RX brakes. The combination needs to be set up properly due to the tiny clearance but that's about it.

Magura N. America Svc Mgr
    Jun 2004
    Hello all

Rotor thickness will have NO effect on pad clearance or distance between the pads when they are retracted.