mtbr member
    Apr 2011

Formula oro k24 - late grip

I'm a real beginner at disc brakes and have now bought a used bike with formula oro k24 on it. The problem I have is that the brakes grip very late, and also the force I have to apply is to heavy.

Should I try to exchange the pads? I really can't tell if there is too much wear on them. Or is it a problem with air in the system?

T.W.O.
    Have you check the pad, it could be worn or contaminated. How late is late for you about half way before engagement? There's an adj knob/lever just inside of the lever you may be able to dail your preference. Is the problem on both f/r?

If there's air in the system then it just need a good bleed. If this happen right after you get your bike it may not be a problem. If the bike has been sitting for a while it may need sometime to "wake up" for the lack of better word. It's like bedding in the rotor it takes a while and once the pressure is up and ready you are good to go, I hope that's the case.

mtbr member
    Apr 2011
    Yeah, at least half way and more than half way on the rear. The adjustment knob is fully set for early grip. I've looked at the pads and I don't know how new ones should look so hard to tell if they're worn but anyway they seem to be resting on the disc so there is no space between them. That leads me to believe that they should grip instantly? The bike has probably been sitting for 6 months or so....

T.W.O.
    Post the pic of the pad and the lever engagement. The adjustment can change the engagement point it's how riders dial in their preference. Did you go on the first ride yet? if yes how long was the ride and how often you brake. You may just need to brake repeatedly to wake everything up. I have to do that everytime I change the pad or bleed the system.

mtbr member
    Apr 2011
    Pics attached
    Attached Images Attached Images    

T.W.O.