mtbr member

Formula 1 Brakes Have Problems

I've been running Shimano brakes on all bikes for quite a few years with good results and no problems, but I thought I would try something different for the latest build. I did some research and looked at charts and came up with the Formula 1 brakes as being at the top for low weight and high stopping power. I ordered a set from Chain Reaction with a pair of their floating rotors with aluminum centers. Nice looking kit, but the first thing I had to fight right out of the box was both rotors were pretty out of true. The one I put on the front wasn't too bad and with a little tweaking I got it to run basically straight, but the other one was way out in several places. I called Formula and the first guy I talked to said to send the rotors back to them and they would try to straighten them. But that meant several weeks of down time (knowing how these things go) from the new bike I just built up and I wanted to ride it, so I elected to try to solve the problem myself. I probably worked on that rotor for a total of 1 1/2 hours over several sessions. I eventually got it to an acceptable state of bent. It would rub and make noise but not enough to notice most of the time. I could live with that for a while. But the other issue that the tech at Formula said would go away after use is that the pistons in the calipers don't retract enough to let the rotors run free much of the time and it varies for some reason. If you sight down you can barely see any gap or none at all between the pads and the rotors. I road the bike for a couple of months hoping it would fix itself but it didn't and if anything it got worse. I called Formula again and explained both issues. This guy told me to remove the pad and drive the pistons out fairly far from the calipers and clean them with alcohol because there may be assembly grease keeping them from retracting properly. This rep also said that he had no interest in helping with the $99 list price bent