Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Drinkin' the RIP9 Koolaid

Floating rotor vs. Solid

I'm picking up a new Shimano XT M785 front brake. Is there any real advantage to a floating 180mm rotor vs. a solid one? I would think that a floating rotor would have a bit more tolerance to the caliper not being perfectly centered, but I have no real world experience with this. Any thoughts?

mtbr member
    Jun 2009
    I think in theory the answer should be no but my experience the answer has been YES YES YES. For example at one point even though I was using one piece rotors with my Shimano Saint M810's on Giant Faith 0. When I switched the rotors on my Faith 0 to RT-76 and RT-86 two piece rotors I noticed a significant increase in braking power.

Believe it or not I think this is Avid's main problem. I don't think their brakes are bad but their rotors SUCK. I had terrible squealing and vibration problems on my Giant XTC 29er1 (which was equipped with Code 5's). After I changed the rotors to Shimano RT-76 rotors these problems were greatly reduced.

If your rotor vibrates your bike is probably going to vibrate as well. Even if the rotor doesn't vibrate I would imagine that rotor flex is probably going to adversely effect braking performance,which is why I believe the one piece rotors on the Faith 0 had less stopping power than the two piece rotors that replaced them.

However bike weight,suspension travel and frame material play a huge role in stopping power and vibration. I have Avid Code 5's on my Giant XTC Advanced carbon hardtail with one piece rotors but I don't notice any vibration,in fact the brakes on the XTC Advanced stop it better than any other bike I have. In this case suspect I suspect the XTC stops well because it's a light carbon hardtail with limited suspension travel (100mm).

So although two piece rotors are probably better than one piece rotors they may not be neccessary or even desirable depending on the bike that they are attached to.

MTB B'dos