Thread: which end?

Welcome to the Gem...

which end?

i'm new to all this. i'm in the final stages of building my bike. i'd like to install the brakes myself. i have avid BB7s.

which end of the cable goes to the brakes? and do i cut off that chunk? it seems like it has to route through a little guide thing, and there's no way to get it on w/o losing the chunk.

a step by step would be nice, but any help is appreciated. sorry for being a newb still... it happens

cheers, fellas.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    2008 JabberWocky
    Chubs... Carbon... Good...

LDH
    mtbr member
    cut left side off, right side fits any modern MTB lever.

mtbr member
    Cut the one furtherest from the nipple off. You don't need that one.

The main thing you want to do is cut the housing to its propper lengths. (take the cable out first after you cut the end off). Look at pics of other people's bikes to get a feel for routing and how it shlould look

- Mount your brake levers to the bar and brakes to the frame
    - Take the black housing and place one end in the brake lever and see how much length you'll need to get to the first cable stop making sure you have enough play to turn the bars, but not too much.
    - Do the same thing with the left over piece and start from the next cable stop to where it would go into the brake.

Depending on the frame, a lot of folks will run the housing from lever to brake to prevent muck from getting in. (using same cable guides as hydraulic brakes).

Good luck!

Meh.
    Check out the Park Tools repair section.

mtbr member
    Aug 2007
    That looks like one of the cheap cables, hopefully it's not. Good housing and cable is really nice to have. Gives a lot better feel to the BB7s.

Welcome to the Gem...
    Quote Originally Posted by Schmucker
    That looks like one of the cheap cables, hopefully it's not. Good housing and cable is really nice to have. Gives a lot better feel to the BB7s.