mtbr member

New question here. Elixir 5 and "spongy" pistons

Hello,

I'm trying to replace my front Avid Elixir 5 2010 brake pads for the first time. I saw the videos on how to do it and I thought I was pretty well prepared... But after retiring the old pads I realized the pistons were going back to the old position, not really getting back to the more wide opened position. I used a wide screwdriver and I can see the pistons moving back, but after I pull the screwdriver off and wait for a few seconds, the pistons are back where they were.

This causes the new pads to end too close each other and don't even allow the rotor to fit. I tried A LOT and they are the same place where they were at the beginning! After removing the pads, not even the red plastic spreader fits there.

Any ideas on what is happening? I was thinking if a bleed was needed and the air could be causing the "spongy" behavior of the pistons, but I've never done it before (I have the bleed kit, though) I don't want to mess the things more... It was supposed to be a quick pad replacement!

One quick note is the bike is turned so the caliper is higher than the lever. No idea if that affects anything here.

mtbr member
    You *might* be able to get away without doing a full bleed by just connecting one of your bleed syringes to the lever (with DOT 5.1 in it of course) and then pushing the pads in. That would force a little bit of fluid out of the master cylinder into the syringe, making more room for the thicker pads. However, there's an excellent chance you'll push too much out, and your lever will end up coming back too close to the bar when you brake. Then you'll need a full bleed.

mtbr member
    Jun 2008
    You should probably go ahead and bleed both brakes. It's not too hard.

mtbr member