mtbr member

Dumb brake question but I am a newb who needs help

So, here is the deal. I have a Trek 4300 with your basic alloy v-brake, not even a brand name I guess. I am also restoring/building up and OLD Peugot MTB as a rigid single speed. I have never been terribly happy with the brakes on the Trek. They work OK on the street, but on steep descents I found myself wanting just a little more grab. The peugot had some old catilevers, which I am betting I won't like when I get it back together. So, I was going to go to V-s on it as well. I don't have a bunch to spend, maybe $50 as I have already spent too much on this old thing.

So, here are my thoughts.
    A. Replace the brakes on the Trek with something better, move Trek brakes to Peugot.

B. Leave Trek alone, just get some cheap for the Peugot. I have seen some OEM pull-offs on ebay for next to nothing.

C. Get nice brakes on the Puegot, try maybe better pads on the Trek.

D. Look for used?

E. Stick the cants back on the Puegot and just ride it and leave everything alone.

F. Stick foot on back tire and hope for the best. (hey, that is what I did as a kid on my wal-mart bike!)

Sofa King We Todd Did
    24601, I've been following your saga with the Peugeot bike ever since you thought of building up a singlespeed bike. I have a Fisher Advance which kinda like a Trek 4300 with Fisher stickers on it, I guess. So I'm guessing that the brakes you have might be somewhat similar to mine. They're Promax pieces of crap. While the V-brake calipers are OK at best, I found that the pads were absolutely rubbish and so I upgraded to Kool Stop MTB pads, which were highly recommended to me right here in this forum. These are the ones that are orange and black. I've been absolutely thrilled with them every since. I threw them on. I think you can pick up a pair for about $30 online.