Mtbr minion
    May 2006

Do any pro racers use Hope?

Why is it that with every photo from downhill and enduro racing there aren't any bikes with Hope brakes? Kinda weird that a high-end braking system is nowhere to be found.

mtbr member
    As for pro racers, I'd say it's because Hope doesn't sponsor any of them. Everything you see on a pro racers bike (including VR46's M1) is there because the item manufacturer supplies it to the team in return for the add value. If Hope doesn't step up with product and possibly some $$ too, the teams will use the stuff from the companies that do..

b a n n e d
    How hard did you look? Hope does have a factory sponsored team as well as sponsored riders. They have 3 DH riders, as well as 4 XC racers and had at least 1 enduro rider - all sporting Hope brakes.
    Alcohol may lead nowhere, but it sure is the scenic route!

mtbr member
    Apr 2011
    I'm not a pro, but I will be using hope brakes.

You want to use them now...don't you?

Mtbr minion
    May 2006
    Quote Originally Posted by HillbillyTom View Post
    As for pro racers, I'd say it's because Hope doesn't sponsor any of them. Everything you see on a pro racers bike (including VR46's M1) is there because the item manufacturer supplies it to the team in return for the add value. If Hope doesn't step up with product and possibly some $$ too, the teams will use the stuff from the companies that do..
    Not to take the post sideways, but I can assure you that Brembo does not give monoblock calipers to any factory race teams in MotoGP, WSBK or AMA. They purchase brake parts from the manufacturer, you just see them the most because they are the best. Same with suspension, tires, bodywork, etc. Perfect example- Honda Japan owns Nissin and Showa, but use Brembo and Ohlins on the RCV213 through a racing purchase contract.

That's why I asked the questions - you don't see Steve Peat, Aaron Gwin, Gee Atherton, Sam Hill, etc. on Hope Tech V4's. Just seems kinda strange.