mtbr member
    Jan 2004

Disks: XTR vs. Juicy 7 vs. Hays HFX Mag +

What's the lowdown on these disk brakes? Are the XTR's really that hard to keep from rubbing? I'm no mechanic whiz, but I am decently competent (can overhaul a fork, hubs, ect). I'd appreciate any help- they're going on a 2004 C-dale Team edition Scalple if it matters.

(aka SS_MB-7)
    Quote Originally Posted by xcgeek
    What's the lowdown on these disk brakes? Are the XTR's really that hard to keep from rubbing?.
    Of the brakes you are interested in, I've only used the XTR/XTs. For the first 4-6 weeks, they were fantastic...excellent power and modulation with a very firm lever. Just I look for in brakes. Then, the front brake started to rub. One of the pistons would not fully retract after the lever was released. I tried everything to fix it, but nothing worked. Eventually, the rear started to exhibit the same sticky piston syndrome. Once I had some downtime (i.e., weather was -48F), I pulled the brakes off and warrantied them with Shimano USA. They just arrived back at my LBS after 4 weeks. I'm not yet sure what the warranty consisted of -- hopefully, new calipers.

First generation XTR calipers had piston bores that were actually too smooth. As the pistons extend, a seal pulls the pistons back after the lever is released. Since the surface was too smooth, the seal could not grab onto anything. So, the piston remained extended causing pad rub.

Newer XTR calipers are said to have rougher surfaces to allow the seals to grab.

As for the other brakes, I like the ideas behind the Juicy 7, but I'm always leary about 1st generation products.

The Hayes Mag + looks nice, too. But, I've never been a fan of Hayes' off/on feel. I prefer a much more modulated brake....Formula B4 SLs and XTR/XTs are some of the best, closely followed by the Hope Mini.
    Ride Hard,
    Mike B. (MCM# 7.77)
    http://www.one-speed.com

umm...yea
    Feb 2004

Xtr....