mtbr member

disk brakes rubbing?

Hi, I have recently bought a new bike but my front disk brake is rubbing. The brake in question is a Hope mono M4 200mm hydrualic. It's a continous rub from one side of pads. Everything is new so should not be worn/warped/buckled etc

I've heard people comment on how disk brakes always rub/drag a little however this is actually making quite a lot of resistance when I try and ride, also the back one doesn't seem to rub at all. You can quite clearly see the disk is too far over one side - could do with going about .75mm to the left to make the disk central.

I've tried the trick with the playing cards which stops the rubbing nicely until I reapply the brake a couple of times resulting in it going back to normal, in this case - rubbing.

I'm new to disk brakes so am a little unsure of what adjustments I could try and make (if any) I have tried loosening the caliper and wiggling it more centrally on the disk but once tightened it reverts back to its original position. There's also a screw coming out the top of the caliper with a protective black rubber outing - but am not sure what this does.

I have taken it down the my lbs but they haven't fixed the problem ( I picked my bike up just before closing time so didn't stop to try it out)

Anyway any help would be much appreciated. Thanks, Nick.

Riding a Rig.
    Probably just need to bend the rotor a bit. Check out the
    disc brake faq's.

UKMac

I would go to http://www.hopetech.com/ for the Manual

It should be able to explain all of the bits of the brake for you. Unfortunately the Hope manuals are crap for troubleshooting, IMO.