mtbr member
    May 2012

Dilemma: Women's model from Cannondale has inferior brakes compared to men's model?

I'm brand new to MTB riding and maintenance, but I have over a decade of experience building and maintaining BMX bikes. So the main parts I am unfamiliar with working on are derailleurs, shocks, and hydraulic/disc brakes.

After a lot of research, I bought myself a 2012 Cannondale Trail SL3. I'm pretty happy with it overall but I don't really know much at this point. It has Shimano BR-M446 hydraulic disc brakes. After a couple riding sessions I noticed some rubbing between the front rotor and the brake pad, but this was very easily remedied by loosening the bolts that attach the caliper to the fork and slightly re-positioning it to center the rotor better. Easy peasy, no problem since, even after removing/replacing the front wheel multiple times, the rotor stays centered. Any more complicated adjustments to the hydraulic system are beyond my current skillset.