mtbr member

Difference between resin, metallic pads?

I have a set of 04 XT hydro's and am looking at new pads.. what are the differences, advantages and disadvantages of resin vs metallic vs semi-metallic, etc

Thanks

mtbr member
    May 2004
    I will give you my first hand feeling about them, but I am new to disc brakes. I have burned through one set of resin pads and one set of metallic pads. I have Shimano XT brakes. The resin pads are a little softer material. They are quiet and have great modulation. They also disappeared after two months of riding. I then put in the metallics. Both sets were Shimano replacement pads. The metallics make an awful scraping kind of sound at the very best and squeal something awful at their worst. People talk about the metallics offering more braking power and this may be, but it all comes on at the very end of the pull. There is very little modulation and then tons of grip. I am still searching for a better pad. Something right between these two would be nice. I am trying to order a set of Galfer pads to try out, but the place that sells them knows nothing about them and I am waiting for them to call me back. Some people have recomended putting a resin pad on one side and a metallic pad on the other. I don't see where this would be a big help. The wear quality of the pad will still be the same. If you are lighter (I am 220lbs.) and ride flatter stuff so wear isn't as much of an issue I really liked the resin pads better. I am just using them up way too fast.

hope this helps,
    Craig
    the Gorge

mtbr member&ham operator
    Jul 2004
    [QUOTE=spaeth] The resin pads are a little softer material. They are quiet and have great modulation. They also disappeared after two months of riding. I then put in the metallics. Both sets were Shimano replacement pads. The metallics make an awful scraping kind of sound at the very best and squeal something awful at their worst.
    QUOTE]