Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Cost to upgrade to disc brakes?

7K views 6 replies 6 participants last post by  BruceBrown 
#1 ·
I have an older bike (1999) that I would like to upgrade to disc brakes. Is there an adapter to attach disc brakes to an old fork that currently has v brakes? I have RST 281 front suspension. Sorry, I am very new to this. Also, if this would work, how much would it cost if I went with more low end brakes?

#2 ·
Honestly, it probably can't be done . . . but look down on the lower left leg of the fork. Are there mounts there? Either post or IS . . .

More importantly, what about the frame? Are there rear brake mounts back there?

My gut tells me no on one or both accounts, at which point it would be prohibitively expensive. What's wrong with the v-brakes you've got now? I ran v-brakes for years and the right combo of parts can make for a really good setup.

#3 ·
Agreed, we can't even begin to give you a reasonably accurate estimate without knowing if the bike and fork are even disc brake compatible. If the fork isn't then there's no adapter that I am aware of that would allow you to safely mount a disc brake up front. And being the bike is a 99 it may well not have disc tabs on the rear. In 99 disc brakes were just starting to hit their stride and become popular. Most frame manufacturers hadn't caught up with it and not all frames were offered with the mounts. Also, it is highly unlikely that your hubs are disc brake compatible if you still have the stock wheels on the bike.

If the above is the case then you are looking at a minimum of a new fork, wheels, and adapter for the frame, and the brakes themselves. So assuming you need it all you'd be looking somewhere in the neighborhood of $465 to $520 for new components. You might be able to shave a few $ off of that by going used. But in buying used parts you do incur a certain amount of risk.