mtbr member
    Nov 2012

cheap upgrade for avid elixr 7 for more stopping power for a clyde

I have a 200mm front rotor + 180 mm in the rear. Brakes do the unfamous turkey siound and doesn't brake enough for my 6'4'' 230 pounds guy. Should i bleed thm first or upgrade some parts? Noob here who needs help!

Thanks

DFMBA.org

cheap upgrade for avid elixr 7 for more stopping power for a clyde

If you don't know when they were last bled, it might not be a bad idea. After that I'd try some aftermarket pads if you don't want to give up on them just yet. Tree Fort Bikes sells some Jagwire pads that seem to have good reviews. I used Serfas pads from Jenson USA on my Elixir 3s and they work great and the brakes are silent.

The next logical step is to switch to Shimanos. Billions of people on these forums rave about the higher-end Shimano brakes.
    Please donate to IMBA or your local IMBA chapter. It's trail karma.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Welric View Post
    I have a 200mm front rotor + 180 mm in the rear. Brakes do the unfamous turkey siound and doesn't brake enough for my 6'4'' 230 pounds guy. Should i bleed thm first or upgrade some parts? Noob here who needs help!

Thanks
    I had Elixir 5s. Did the 200mm upgrade on the front and moved the 180mm to the back. Still not powerful enough. Replaced with 180/160 Shimano XT and XT rotors and now have way more power than I did with the Elixir 200/180. I think XTs are still on clearance on most online stores.

Might have to bite the bullet unless you can live with your existing setup.

mtbr member
    Feb 2011
    Shimano XT. Get the Problem Solvers adapter if you want to bolt up SRAM shifters directly to them. I changed out from Elixir 7 and never looked back.

mtbr member
    May 2007
    I hope you have the Avid HS1 rotors................