mtbr member
    Feb 2006

Centerlock Question

I have a set of DT Swiss centerlock hubs with 160 mm avid bb7's. What would be the most economical solution to get them to work? Which is the cheapest adapter?

mtbr member
    Sep 2006

mtbr member
    I'm no expert but maybe look into 160mm centerlock rotors? Maybe XT or something? It is probably a little more expensive than the $20 adapters but should be much lighter.

Anyone that can confirm this, I'd like to know. I like the idea of the centerlock rotors but just purchased avid brakes. Hubs are yet to be purchased
    Oh sh!+ just force upgraded to cat1. Now what?
    Best thing about an ultra marathon? I just get to ride my bike for X hours!

Meh.
    Shimano rotors have a fairly narrow braking path. The Avid pads will overlap the blade and sweep at the rotor "arms." This will lead to uneven pad wear, and eventually problems such as stuttering, howling, etc. You can space the caliper up so that the pads don't grab, but this will mean that pad will hang over the top of the rotor, and when pad wear becomes severe enough, the overlapped portion will touch, and the rest of the material won't contact the rotor. The best way to go about it is to bevel or grind off a portion of this pad. The downside is that you have to do this with every single set of pads. IMO, it's not worth the trouble.

Nightriding rules SuperModerator
    Quote Originally Posted by XSL_WiLL