Page 1 of 25 1 2 3 4 5 11 ... LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jun 2009

Carbon Brake rotors

check these out rotors out, I wonder if they reduce the "turkey worbble" noise? doesnt look like they have hit the market yet.

Designed for a better ride. -

no trees are safe
    They will probably have to go with special pads. Sintered would destroy the thing in one ride.

Nouveau Retrogrouch SuperModerator
    Quote Originally Posted by gotfish8 View Post
    check these out rotors out, I wonder if they reduce the "turkey worbble" noise? doesnt look like they have hit the market yet.

Designed for a better ride. -

Carbon fiber is a poor material for rotors.

I have been using Avid BBDB/BB7s for 13 years with various rotors and still have not experienced "turkey gobble" or heard it from other riders' brakes.
    mtbtires.com
    The trouble with common sense is it is no longer common

derp
    WW will be all over these .... don't think i would touch them with a 10' pole though.
    2006 Cannondale Rush 650b
    2010 Cannondale Trail SL 650b
    2013 Norco Range Killer-B

DIY all the way
    Quote Originally Posted by shiggy View Post
    Carbon fiber is a poor material for rotors.

I have been using Avid BBDB/BB7s for 13 years with various rotors and still have not experienced "turkey gobble" or heard it from other riders' brakes.
    Naah Shiggy, that sure depends

I made a carbon rotor (and pads), using a composite intended for the purpose.
    That brake is anything but "poor".
    The thing is though, that the composites that are cheap enough for consumer applications, are pretty poor.
    If people were willing to pay for the right material, steel rotors would be a Wallyworld exclusive product.

Magura

EDIT: Pics of a "not so poor" composite brake.

ride all day
    Sep 2011