mtbr member
    Sep 2013

Broke the Brake Pad Pin, Is It Necessary?

I have an Avid Elixir 3, and while I was trying to remove the pin that clamps onto the brake caliper and pads bolt, it snapped in half. I'd like to know if that pin is absolutely necessary. I know it's there just in case the bolt becomes loose, but how often does that happen as long as I tighten it down?

mtbr member
    Oct 2012
    I've been running without one for the last six months, but I put blue loctite on the threads. There's no actual load on the bolt; it just keeps the pads where they're supposed to be so it doesn't need to be very tight.

They never seem to come undone, but....if you don't have any blue loctite it's time to get some.

I've never had one come loose. As I recall, new ones come with a set of pads. Your bike store probably has a drawer full of used ones. If you're really stuck, I can look for one out in the garage. If I find one, you can have it for a self-addressed stamped envelope.

mtbr member

Broke the Brake Pad Pin, Is It Necessary?

Quote Originally Posted by bulerias View Post
    I've been running without one for the last six months, but I put blue loctite on the threads. There's no actual load on the bolt; it just keeps the pads where they're supposed to be so it doesn't need to be very tight.

They never seem to come undone, but....if you don't have any blue loctite it's time to get some.
    Same here. Just add a little loctite to the little threads on the bolt and you're good to go.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free
    Please donate to IMBA or your local chapter. It's trail karma.

human dehumidifier
    You talking about that little E-clip that goes on the end of the bolt? If so you can get those at a hardware store, just take the bolt with you and look in the small parts drawers. Safety wire is another alternative. But yeah, you only need it if the bolt comes loose, and that's not very likely.