mtbr member
    Mar 2004

brakes that rub less than hayes?

is it just me? or are hayes hydraulic discs especially prone to rubbing. i can get the adjusted for a little while, but then they eventually start doing it again. grrrrrrr. it seems that the pistons don't retract very far, and to make matters worse, they don't retract very evenly. i'm thinking about getting something else that sucks less. any ideas? it seems like the hope brakes i've seen retract much further, which should make them less prone to rubbing. anyone had rubbing problems with hope?

-mark
    mark weaver
    kuna, id

mtbr member

I'm new to disc brakes but...

Quote Originally Posted by velosapiens
    is it just me? or are hayes hydraulic discs especially prone to rubbing. i can get the adjusted for a little while, but then they eventually start doing it again. grrrrrrr. it seems that the pistons don't retract very far, and to make matters worse, they don't retract very evenly. i'm thinking about getting something else that sucks less. any ideas? it seems like the hope brakes i've seen retract much further, which should make them less prone to rubbing. anyone had rubbing problems with hope?

-mark
    With what I've read and hear of, Avid Mechs seem to be close to maintenance free. I just put one on my front wheel and so far i really like it.

banned

it's maintenance - or lack of maintenance

the reason your pads drag is only one of three things:

(1) your caliper is fouled

(2) your pistons and their seals are dirty, making the pistons stick instead of retract

(3) your rotors keep getting bent --or-- your rotor already is bent and you don't realize it

it's nothing to do with Hayes or Hope or Avid.

mtbr member

wtf?

Quote Originally Posted by gonzostrike

(2) your pistons and their seals are dirty, making the pistons stick instead of retract

(3) your rotors keep getting bent --or-- your rotor already is bent and you don't realize it