mtbr member
    Apr 2005

New question here. Which brakes for an Adroit?

I'm a hardtail fanatic who used to post here frequently years ago, but got busy raising kids, and forgot my old user name.....

At any rate, just bought a new-in-the-wrap leftover '02 Klein Adroit frame, and I'm in the process of building it up. I currently ride an S-Works M2 with xtr v-brakes....

The Adroit has disc brake bosses on it, but I read somewhere that it is ONLY compatible with Hayes (22mm?) systems.

I have no experience with disc brakes on MTBs, so I'm looking for opinions....love the V-brakes, but I'm a Clyde, and ride wet conditions relatively often....so it would seem discs would be right for me. Does anyone have further knowledge about which systems are/are not compatible with the Adroit frame?

Thanks, and I look forward to being - if not a great contributor - at least a sponge for knowledge around here again....

HTW

6x7=Dont Panic!
    Awesome bike. Any disc brake should work with the appropriate adapter. One like this should be fine:
    Ebay link
    Herro prease

-> SickLines.com <-
    Quote Originally Posted by HTWoodsman
    I'm a hardtail fanatic who used to post here frequently years ago, but got busy raising kids, and forgot my old user name.....

At any rate, just bought a new-in-the-wrap leftover '02 Klein Adroit frame, and I'm in the process of building it up. I currently ride an S-Works M2 with xtr v-brakes....

The Adroit has disc brake bosses on it, but I read somewhere that it is ONLY compatible with Hayes (22mm?) systems.

I have no experience with disc brakes on MTBs, so I'm looking for opinions....love the V-brakes, but I'm a Clyde, and ride wet conditions relatively often....so it would seem discs would be right for me. Does anyone have further knowledge about which systems are/are not compatible with the Adroit frame?

Thanks, and I look forward to being - if not a great contributor - at least a sponge for knowledge around here again....

HTW