mtbr member
    Sep 2012

Brake upgrade questions

Hi there, I am extremely new to biking (well besides 15 years ago when I was a kid and rode everywhere). I have recently bought a 2006 Kona Fire MTB with cable disk brakes. I would like to upgrade to some hydraulics (avid juicy 7's specifically because of price). I was wondering if these brakes would fit on the standard mounts for my current brakes. Are the caliper mounts the same? Would the disks bolt up the same (they are both 6 bolt I think, or whatever the standard bolt pattern is. In motorcycling I believe they are called the carrier bolts).

I ride a motorcycle and have upgraded many parts on it, and that is why I kind of have the bug for updating my bicycle. I just am not sure how to "hot rod" a bike.

rebmem rbtm
    Apr 2007
    Brake Mount Standards

The Juicy is a post mount brake, if your fork has IS mounts you can get an adapter to attach it, the rear brake will need an adapter to attach it as no mass produced frames from 2006 had post mounts on them.
    If you have the stock fork on this bike it has IS mounts and it'd probably only be rated to a maximum rotor size of 160mm.
    If your current hubs/rotors are 6 bolt then any replacement rotor will need to also have to be 6 bolt.

Old Avid adapters link.
    3, 4, 5 and 6 are rear IS adapters.
    6, 7, and 10 are front IS adapters.

New Avid adapters, they've renamed them and some are different sizes to the old ones.
    0mm IS - front 160mm / rear 140mm
    20mm IS - front 180mm / rear 160mm
    40mm IS - front 200mm / rear 180mm
    60mm IS - rear 200mm

mtbr member
    Sep 2012
    OK so let me try to understand this (like I said I am new to bikes)...

If I want to put Avid Juicy 7 brakes on my bike with 160mm rotors front/rear I would need adapter 3 (for rear) and 6 (for front) from the "Old Avid adapters"....

OR 0mm IS (for front) and 20mm IS (for rear) from the "New Avid adapters"?

rebmem rbtm
    Apr 2007