mtbr member

Brake lines for Formula RX, stock or ?

I bought some RX's but the rear line is about 2 inches too short. I called my LBS and they can get a new line kit with fittings from Formula for about $65. They also mentioned the Jagwire kit, pick a color, enough line for both brakes, and a fitting kit for about $50. I think they would charge about $20-25 to do all of this for me.

Any preferred line since I'm replacing it anyway? Jagwire an upgrade in any way over the stock line?

Is it difficult to do this myself or should I just pay the shop, I've never done it before and don't have the special line cutter or the bleed kit.

Any other lines I should get instead of the jagwire or stock thats better in any way?
    Hardrock 29er, Niner EMD9, Cannondale F29, Camber Expert, 650b Nickel all gone.
    2014 Giant Anthem 27.5 here.

mtbr member
    For that price the SS lines would be much better.
    Current Ride:
    Ibis Mojo SL-R - Medium - South Beach White
    '11 Specialized Roubaix Compact Rival

mtbr member
    SS lines being the goodridge brand or something else?
    I have an Avid bleed kit, came with my SID last week, and from searching online many people successfully use it to bleed current Formula brakes, should I just buy the line kit myself and learn?

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by madsedan View Post
    I have an Avid bleed kit, came with my SID last week, and from searching online many people successfully use it to bleed current Formula brakes, should I just buy the line kit myself and learn?
    Yeah the Goodridge SS line is good. I'm not familiar with bleeding Formula brakes since I run Hope Tech, but if the kit isn't very expensive, then it would be convenient to have it when you need it than to rely on your lbs.

Felco C7 cable cutters are great for cables/housings.
    FELCO C7 WIRE ROPE CUTTER | eBay
    Current Ride:
    Ibis Mojo SL-R - Medium - South Beach White
    '11 Specialized Roubaix Compact Rival

mtbr member