mtbr member
    Mar 2009

Bleeding Avid Elixir CR Brakes - Tips!

I am new to hydraulics but an experienced bike mechanic otherwise. I recently got my first set of hydraulics, Elixir CRs, and the front hose was way long, the rear a bit long (though I wouldn't have bothered if the front wasn't so long). Here is some feedback from a first time hydraulic brake bleeder. It will take you 2-3 hours the first time through. Considerably less if you have bled hydraulics before (car brakes don't count).

1.) Get Avid bleed kit. There isn't much to it, some syringes, a couple fittings to adapt the syringes to the calipers and levers, fluid, crush thingie (not copper crush washer like car brakes) necessary for shortening the line, and bleed blocks for all the avid brake models (your brakes came with them anyway). Worth the money... you couldn't do this without it or build your own without the real kit in your hand, the syringe to brake adapters are the key component, but not nearly as important as the DIRECTIONS.

2.) Read the directions front to back.... really... I hate directions, and never read them before I start... I usually go step by step and it works out. It is EXTREMELY IMPORTANT that you follow these EXACTLY. So give them a pass through before you touch your bike. It will only take 2 minutes.

3.) Follow the directions step by step starting with the front brake, it is the easier one. Take your time, read each step twice. If you miss one you will be starting over.

4.) Switch to the back brake. Don't get cocky like I did and try to do it from memory since the front went well. If you miss one silly step or do things out of order like I did, you will be doing them again. It will not be fun, and you will feel like a jackass while you are doing it.