mtbr member
    Jul 2006

Birthday upgrade, hydro brake suggestions?

I'm thinking of upgrading my BB7 180/160 F/R setup to a hydro setup. I've got no experience with them but I've ridden a few and liked it. I consider myself pretty confortable with disc brakes, I know how to adjust the BB7's, change pads, tweak the bite points and use the tri-align system, I'm saying this so that I can hopefully avoid suggestions to stick with mech discs. I'm to the point that how I like my brakes, basically a light switch -- all on with minimal pull, can't be satisfied with mech's. I'm finding that after a race I've got to adjust the brakes again as they have lost the bite I'm looking for as well as fade over the course of the race.

I'm all SRAM with x.7/x.9 F/R shifters so if that makes a difference take it into consideration. Also I have the 180/160 but I don't know if with hydros that the 180 could be sized back down to 160. Also I have G2 Cleansweep rotors, can I recycle them and just get levers/calipers or are new discs a must? I'd like to keep it around $300 for both F/R as well.

Suggestions?

mtbr member
    Oct 2012
    shimano SLX can usually be had for around $200 without rotors from Blue Sky. Rotors are probably another $50 total. Great power, very much on/off. Very similar to XT/XTR, I've heard.

mtbr member
    Jan 2013
    Quote Originally Posted by RCook View Post