mtbr member

Best Pad/Rotor Clearance

I was just curious to find out what hydraulic disc brakes have the most clearance between the brake rotor and the pads.
    What about the Shimano XT brakes with the servowave, does that allow more rotor clearance between the pads?
    Any help is much appreciated.

mtbr member
    No one can help?

mtbr member
    hey,
    im not an expert but i think that rotor clearence is an unimportant concept, all that is needed is for your calipers/pads to not rub the rotor as the wheel spins...

i ride hayes and they rub minimally and my stopping power is still great...

if this isnt of any help, maybe you can try to clarify why rotor clearence is so important for you..

thanks.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by k1lluaA
    hey,
    im not an expert but i think that rotor clearence is an unimportant concept, all that is needed is for your calipers/pads to not rub the rotor as the wheel spins...

i ride hayes and they rub minimally and my stopping power is still great...

if this isnt of any help, maybe you can try to clarify why rotor clearence is so important for you..

thanks.
    You're right, generally the rotor clearance is unimportant, but my bike's rear end flexes just a little bit and causes the rotor to move a little and it rubs. Being that I have BB7's I adjust the pads a little further out. From what I have seen with hydros is that the pad is very close to the rotor. So there's my reasoning. Maybe that will make a little more sense.

mtbr member
    Apr 2006
    I'm with Duncun, I wish there was more clearance. If your rotor is even 1/2mm out it will rub making it very annoying. Was at a bike shop, brand new Elixer on Canondale Scapel was discussing issue with manager, and he says Elixers have no problem, sure enough he spins up the wheel, and I'm like, yeah, hear that???

Its minor, but annoying.
    www.mtbiker.ca

My Rides:
    FSR XC -R7 Platinum - SRAM X7 (26.5lbs)