Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Mar 2012

The best brakes?

I am about to get rid of my new Elixir CRs for some new brakes. I was wondering, what are the best brakes? I love how powerful the Elixir CRs are, but I cannot stand the noise/warbling after ten minute downhill rides.

GL1
    mtbr member

NEW XT or XTR

I can't say enough about the NEW XT or XTR's. I got the XT Trail's with the the ICE tech metal pads and rotors. Amazing! Seriously. And mineral oil over DOT 5 brake fluid.

I am running 180's front and rear on rotors. The lever feel, modulation, and adjustments are top notch. I have been riding for 20 years and these are by FAR the best brakes I have ever had.
    2011 Santa Cruz Nomad
    2011 Specialized P1
    1999 GT Zaskar

mtbr member
    +1 for the 2012 XTs.
    I'm running 180 ice techs F/R.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

mtbr member
    Dec 2011
    +1 for 2012 XT/XTR. I'm running full XTR awesome 180front 160rear

mtbr member
    Mar 2012

mtbr member
    Yep. Those are them.

mtbr member
    Mar 2012
    Right now with my Elixirs I have to clean the pads (organics) of contaminants after every downhill ride. If I don't they howl and vibrate horribly. This is a daily thing I have to do pretty much. Would that be the case with the Shimanos?

flurker
    hopefully not intruding here, but i have some supplemental brake questions: wondering if anyone else out there feels it's better to run smaller rotors on the front and big ones on the back to balance out the braking forces a little? i really have no desire to enable one finger lock-ups of my front wheel... also on that note, do hydraulic brakes "feather" better? i am thinking of a mismatched pair - hydro up front mech out back...

mtbr member
    By feather you mean modulate.
    Hydros in general modulate better.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Venison View Post