Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Mar 2012

best bang for buck disc brake under $70?

Hi,
    I just bought a rocky mountain cardiac mainly because it has a disc brake at the front. I am a bike noob, I just ride to the uni and back home. Well I bought the bike because of the disc brakes as the rim brakes that were on my old bike were useless in wet conditions (VERY scary). Anyhow, the front (mechanical) disc brake sucks -.- ....the rear v brakes are good, I guess because of the aluminum rims.

Sooo: I was looking for the best front disc brake set up under $70....I know it's low =/
    I guess I prefer hydraulics as I used them before (hayes solo) and liked how they felt.

thanks in advance

Edit: I was mostly looking at ebay...

mtbr member
    Avid BB7 (from price point or Jenson etc)or Avid Elixir 1 Disc Brake - Black 2012 currently on "sale" for $65
    or
    Shimano Deore Disc Brake M596

The Avids come with new rotors and mounts. The Shimano needs them as extras or reuse your old ones.

Mostly the 2012 Avids get better reports than the 2011 models
    Duct tape iz like teh Force. It has a Lite side and a Dark side and it holdz the Universe together.

mtbr member
    Mar 2012
    do they both come in as 'plug and play'? like I don't need to add oil or bleed or anything like that?

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by sssgood View Post
    do they both come in as 'plug and play'? like I don't need to add oil or bleed or anything like that?

Avids let you use them as left or right hand controls. I think Shimano are set up for either Left or Right hand use.

Yes both are ready to use. The Shimano linked to come with the bits to shorten the hoses. Which can be done without the need to rebleed the brakes.

Some 2011 Avids came from the factory with poor "bleeds" and needed redoing. By report the 2012's are better.

The Avids are a complete set. The Shimanos need a mount and a rotor.