mtbr member
    Feb 2008

BB7's: No Stopping Power?

I've been running BB7's for a couple years now and I finally got fed up with not being able to lock out my back wheel. No matter how much adjusting I do, the rear brake doesn't stop worth a damn. I decided to get bigger rotors (203/185) to see if that would help. The front stops on a dime, but if I were to just use the rear brake, it barely stops me. Ideas? I don't like the idea of relying on my front brake if I need to stop short.

g3h6o3
    Quote Originally Posted by 99SX
    I don't like the idea of relying on my front brake if I need to stop short.
    And you think locking your rear brake will make you stop faster? Rely on your front brake for a short stop.

So I gues you have 6 inch rotors front & back right now, is that it? That's what I have and can lock both brakes with 1 finger very easily. I weight around 160, how much do you weight?
    Check out my SportTracks plugins for some training aid software.

mtbr member
    Jul 2006
    1st off, you need to get comfortable using your front brake because that is where most of your stopping power is.
    That said, a BB7 is plenty capable of locking up your back wheel. My guess is either your pads are glazed, contaminated, or you have crappy cables (does it feel spongy when you grab your brake?).
    Warning: may contain sarcasm and/or crap made up in an attempt to feel important.

R.I.P. DogFriend
    You're saying the rear wheel just keeps spinning no mmatter how hard you pull on the lever?

Definitely not right.

Take out your pads, knock the glaze off of them by putting some sand/emory paper on a flat surface and lightly rub the braking surface on it. Spray the pad with a couple squirts of brake cleaner. Clean the rotor with either brake cleaner or rubbing alcohol. Bed the pad back in gradually and see if the stopping power is better.